Georgia DUI 2nd Offense
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence in the past, you know the consequences you will face if convicted. Because Georgia has taken a tough stance on drinking and driving, multiple offenders face increased penalties, including additional jail time and fines. If you have found yourself facing Georgia DUI 2nd offense charges, you should immediately contact a skilled defense lawyer to help you avoid another drunk-driving conviction.
Some people believe that fighting a second DUI is more difficult than fighting the first. This is certainly not the case. If the evidence being used against you is inaccurate, or if it was obtained without probable cause, your lawyer can weaken the prosecution’s case in order to help your defense. Remember: the only way to avoid these penalties is to fight your charges by speaking with a professional attorney.
The jail sentence for a second offense within 10 years is 90 days to 12 months; however, the judge may suspended or probate all but 72 hours. You could also be on probation for 12 months, though this period will be reduced if any time was served. Adhering to the conditions of probation is extremely important; failure to do so will result in additional penalties.
For a second DUI offense, you could be ordered to pay $600-$1000 in fines along with a 15-25% statutory charge. The minimum mandatory sentence for community service is 30 days. A second offender may also be required to pay for a notice in the local paper with his or her name, address, photo, and details of the drunk-driving arrest.
For a second offense, you may face a three-year license suspension; however, you may be eligible to have it reinstated after 18 months. While the first 12 months are a hard suspension, which means you absolutely cannot drive, you may be granted a limited driving permit after this period. When your regain your full driving privileges, you may be ordered to have an ignition interlock device installed for the first six months. While your license is suspended, you could be required to surrender the license plates for all of the vehicles in your name, though a hardship plate may be granted if a family member is dependent on the vehicle.
Our law firm is dedicated to helping people avoid a Georgia DUI 2nd offense conviction. For a complimentary consultation on your case, please contact our law office today.
Call Us Today: (678) 951-0733
Receive a Free Case Evaluation Today!
Payment Plans Available